

ACADEMIC COUNCIL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Report to Academic Council at its meeting of November 20, 2012

FOR ACTION

1. Academic Council Committee Nominations

The Committee recommends that the following individuals be appointed to the Academic Council Executive Committee:

a) Academic Council Executive Committee

Noor Al-Sadi, BEng program in Nuclear Engineering (to August 31, 2013)

Diana Petrarca, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education (to June 30, 2015)

FOR INFORMATION

2. Budget Update – Revenue/Expenditure Assumptions

The Committee received an update on the planning process for the 2013-14 Operating Budget, and reviewed and discussed the need to fund academic transformation as a top priority from UOIT's strategic planning documents, and find a way to reduce UOIT's dependency on space in the academic enterprise in time to inform the budget allocations for 2013-14. Ultimately, in collaboration with the Provost and the deans, the Academic Council Executive Committee approved the following motion:

That the Academic Council Executive Committee, in collaboration with Provost's Council, establish a joint Task Force on the Transformation of Learning at UOIT that will undertake the following:

- Recommend to the Committee and Provost's Council by December 9, 2012 specific strategies for the 2013-14 budget that will begin the process of Academic Transformation as provided for in the first priority of UOIT's Strategic Mandate Agreement and UOIT's Strategic Plan. While doing so, it would be helpful to attempt to reduce by 10% the university's dependence on academic space for September 2013.
- Develop a plan for submission to the Committee and Provost's Council by April 30, 2013 that will lead to wide-scale learning transformation over the next three years, and at the same time resolve UOIT's critical space shortages through imaginative uses of technology.

To ensure the success of this effort, a portion of the 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16 budgets will be made available to the Task Force in order to achieve the needed changes.

The Task Force will be comprised of the following:

- Members of the Academic Council Executive Committee (on a volunteer basis)
- Faculty representatives of Provost's Council (as designated by the deans)